Management & Boards

Zilor invests in Corporate Governance good practices, sustaining an ethical and respectful relation with customers and collaborators. In order to reinforce the commitment with our shareholders and stakeholders, as the business perpetuity is assured, the company keeps an operation based on transparency, sustainability and professionalism principles.

The Administrative Council is the collegiate body responsible for the decision-making process regarding Zilor’s strategic guidelines. It is composed of 10 members, including 3 external members (two of whom are independent consultants), all with a 2-year term of office and the possibility of reelection. The Board of Directors aims at not only discussing and approving the strategic plans, but also following their implementation, promoting sustainable growth, protecting and maximizing the return on investments, and approving policies and guidelines, exercising the role of guardian of Zilor’s principles and values.

Board of Executive Officers

Name Office Beginning of Mandate End of Mandate
Amaury Olsen Chairman 07/27/2018 July 2020

Amaury Olsen – Former CEO of Tigre Brasil, is chairman of Zilor Administrative Council. He is also Independent Councilmember of Administrative Councils of Duratex, Klabin and Rotoplas Group. Business Administration graduate with extension at University of Southern California.

Carmen Tonanni Vice Chairman of the Board 07/27/2018 July 2020

Carmen Tonanni – She is Deputy Chairman of Zilor Administrative Council, and also its shareholder. She has a bachelor’s degree in law.

Luiz Zillo Neto Board member 07/27/2018 July 2020

Luiz Zillo Neto – He is also Zilor Councilmember and shareholder, and Copersucar S.A. Councilmember. He worked in Zilor treasury department, and he previously held positions in Cargill and Deutsche Bank. He took Finance MBA at University of North Carolina and is Business Administration graduate.

Miguel Zillo Board member 07/27/2018 July 2020

Miguel Zillo – He is Zilor Councilmember and shareholder, and he was Zilor director for several years. He is an accountant technician.

Mauricio R. da Barrosa Board member 07/27/2018 July 2020

Mauricio Rosário da Barrosa – Zilor Administrative Council member, and Copersucar S.A. Consulting Council member. He held positions in Zilor industrial operation area and in Falconi consultancy. He is a Civil Engineering graduate at Polytechnic School at Universidade de São Paulo and took MBA at Cornell University.

José Roberto Lorenzetti Board member 07/27/2018 July 2020

José Roberto Lorenzetti – Zilor Councilmember and shareholder. He is a Civil Engineering graduate at Polytechnic School at Universidade de São Paulo.

Antonio José Zillo Board member 07/27/2018 July 2020

Antonio José Zillo – Zilor former CEO and former COO, currently Zilor Councilmember and shareholder, and he was Copersucar S.A. and Alvean (JV Copersucar and Cargill) Councilmember and member of Decision-Making Council of Sugar Cane Industry Union (UNICA). He is a Civil Engineering graduate at Polytechnic School at Universidade de São Paulo.

José Marcos Lorenzetti Board member 07/27/2018 July 2020

José Marcos Lorenzetti – Zilor Councilmember and shareholder, Agronomy Engineering graduate at ESALQ, at Universidade de São Paulo.

Britaldo Soares Independent board member 07/27/2018 July 2020

Britaldo Soares – Zilor Independent Consulting Councilmember, chairman of Administrative Council of Enel Distribuição São Paulo, chairman of Administration Council of ABDIB – Brazilian Infrastructure and Base Industry Association, Independent Councilmember of Administrative Council of OEC – Odebrecht Engenharia e Construção, and Consulting Councilmember of Atiaia Energia S.A. (Cornélio Brennand Group). He previously worked in executive positions in large corporations, including AES Brasil, Prisma Energy, Elektro, Enron Latam, and he held the position of Corporate/Investment Banking VP in Citibank. Metallurgy Engineering graduate at Universidade Federal de Minas Gerais, Post-Graduate in Economic Engineering at Fundação Dom Cabral and Business Management and Administration expert at Darden School of Business, University of Virginia.

Jucelino Sousa Independent board member 08/30/2018 07/26/2020

Jucelino Sousa – He is Zilor Independent Consulting Councilmember, he worked as Usina Coruripe CEO and Councilmember. Currently, he is Copersucar S.A. Consulting Council and Alesat Combustíveis Administrative Council Councilmember. Economy graduate, took MBA at Fundação Getúlio Vargas and specializations at INSEAD and University of California, Berkeley

The Board of Directors is comprised by 5 members, elected by the Administrative Council, with two-year mandate, with possibility of reelection. It is responsibility of the Board of Directors to administrate and manage Zilor’s business, in compliance with the policies and regulations established in the Bylaws, as well as the legal provisions and resolutions of both the Shareholders’ Meeting and the Board of Directors. The Board of Directors is responsible for the management, organization and control of Zilor’s daily activities and several areas.

Board of Directors

Name Office Beginning of Mandate End of Mandate
Fabiano José Zillo CEO 10/26/2017 July 2020

Fabiano Zillo – Zilor CEO, Master in Agriculture at ESALQ (USP). Took MBA in Business Management at FGV, and extension course focused on strategy and innovation at Wharton Business School.

Emerson Vasconcelos CEO of Biorigin 01/13/2020 July 2020

Emerson Vasconcelos – Biorigin Business Division CEO, Business Administration graduate and with International Business MBA at Kellogg. He worked in companies including Boehringer Ingelheim, Sandoz, Catalent Pharma Solutions, Novozymes, among others.

Mario Weltman Steinmetz Biorigin Officer 7/28/2017 July 2020

Mario Weltman Steinmetz – Biorigin Business Division Director. He is an engineer at UNICAMP, with MBA at FGV. He was Copersucar Administrative Council councilmember. Previously, he was Rhodia Food Division General Director for Latin America.

Marcos P. de Leon Arruda Chief Financial Officer 02/20/2019 July 2020

Marcos P. de Leon Arruda – Zilor CFO, Economy graduate at PUC-RJ, and took MBA at Darden School of Business, University of Virginia.  Previously, he held this position in company including Tópico, Lifemed and OAS Arenas. He was also AES Brasil Chief Executive Officer.

Luiz Gustavo S. Rodrigues Agro-Industry Officer 02/20/2019 July 2020

Luiz Gustavo Scartezini Rodrigues – Zilor Agroindustry Director, Electric Engineering graduate and Master at UNESP, took MBA at FGV and Leadership and Innovation extension course at Florida International University. He worked as COO in Delta Sucroenergia, Pioneiros Bionergia and Bunge Sugar Division.


Zilor Administrative Council is advised by 3 committees, coordinated by independent advisors:

Finance, Audit and Risk Committee, coordinated by Mr. Britaldo Soares, is responsible for developing and following Company risk and financial management policies, as defined by its own name. The Committee reports regularly to Administrative Council on its activities.

The Strategy and Innovation Committee, coordinated by Mr. Jucelino Sousa, is liable to support the Administrative Council in topics related to long-term guidelines and strategic actions, and initiatives concerning technological research and innovation.

Personnel and Remuneration Management Committee, coordinated by Mr. Jucelino Sousa, directs the way how actions and investments related to Zilor’s workforce development are managed.